Arwen’s Bedroom Banner is Done!

IT IS COMPLETED!

IN DIGITAL FORM, THAT IS!

Jesus Christ, this thing has literally taken me a year and a half to make. I FINALLY finished it tonight and the fabric is up for sale on Spoonflower! I did make a few revisions though

 

arwens-banner-small-watermark

(Watermark added because those tricksy Hobbitses are always trying to steal things)

TA FREAKING DAAAA. So I ordered a few swatches from Spoonflower ages ago and I finally got around to editing it just right. In my opinion, I highly prefer the Satin fabric to any other, which is weird because I HATE satin, but the detail and colors are much better, more richer, and you can see every detail. I also ordered a swatch in their basic cotton ultra, which is fine as well, though the detail and depth of color is not as crisp, and in suede, which was my least favorite. I had hoped that it would add a nice layer of texture, and it did, but the colors look more washed out, more faded, it wasn’t what I had imagined.

I also changed the leaves to a different design, which I like better, and lightened everything as a whole. It’s now a bit lighter blue than it was before, because the test swatches came back almost black, which I don’t want. I also changed the boat’s hull color a bit, but honestly only I will ever notice these things. I’d say she’s ready.

There’s a light gray border around all 3 banners, and I struggled with this, I hope people like it, but in the future I may remove it, and even offer other color variations of the whole thing, maybe a more silver-gray option, a more lavender purple, and my original darker version.

You will have to purchase 2 yards for 1 whole banner, as it is very large. 1 yard has the middle section and 5 rod tabs and the 2nd yard has the two side banners and 4 rod tabs (2 per side) as well as the worst sewing instructions this side of the 1950’s. I apologize in advance for how poorly I described how to sew the tabs on, but I do trust people to give up on me and just try their best. I know you can do it.

Here are the links:

Arwen’s Bedroom Middle Banner and Arwen’s Bedroom Side Banner

You will need a rod to hang the banner on, of your choosing, which needs to be no thicker than 2 inches in diameter and at least 90 inches long, at LEAST. The side banners are 25 inches wide each, and the middle is about 35. In the coming days I’ll make a smaller version that’s just 1 yard I think.

You must also add things to it! Little crystals over the small stars, maybe a sequin or a gold bead in the center of each flower on the bottom, some silver or gold rope trim around the entire banner, some beaded fringe on the bottom, ALL OF IT. Come on now. If you get it in satin, the white, gray, and ‘yellow’ really do shine like silver and gold. Guys, it’s awesome.

Here are reference pictures of the actual banner from the movie and when it was on display in some department store window

 

arwensroombanner

 

It looks so velvety, so like…shimmery, I wish I could have made it like that, or printed it on velvet, but alas. The lines of the trees are also much more delicate than I could do, but there you have it.

Well, good luck children! You must post it if you do make it! It will be some time before I order one for myself, it’s the start of the Christmas season (yes, already) and I’m afraid I’ll be up to my ears in Etsy shit until January. Adieu!

breecraft

 

 

 

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Lord of the Rings crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arwen’s Bedroom Banner is Done!

  1. Judi says:

    Beautiful job, just ordered some swatches !! This will be a 2017 project for me. Thanks for finishing it up ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

