Unicorn Crowns

So I have a business on Etsy, I sell my book pillows. I craft and sew every night, I take like 1 night off a week as my ‘weekend’. Even though I craft all the time, there’s something to be said about making something because you have to, for your customers, and making something because you want to, for fun, or just for yourself.

I’m not terribly pretty. This isn’t a sob story, and it’s not about sympathy. It’s just the truth,  I’m not very pretty and I never have been. I’ve always known this, and I’ve taken great delight in making pretty things, because I feel like if I can make something pretty, it’s like…it was inside me, and it was pretty, so then I’m pretty…I don’t know. But hey, who doesn’t like to make something that looks good, right? Like, I think even beautiful people feel like that, so

I try to take a break from working and just relax, and I relax best when I’m making something pretty. I started making these unicorn crown things and I love them. I sell them on facebook groups (like Renfest swap shops and stuff, I feel like they don’t ‘fit’ in my etsy store, plus the facebook groups are divided up into targeted audiences already, so its perfect) and they do sell, but even if they didn’t, I’d still make them just to have in my craft room because I love looking at them! It’s very rare when a craft comes together so fast and just the way I imagined, and these so far have been wonderful to make. I don’t know, I just feel so satisfied and calm when they’re done, it’s just how I relax.

Here’s the first one I made

IMG_7347

IMG_7335

IMG_7343

It only took like an hour to make, top to bottom. They’re very light, you hardly feel them on your head when you wear them, like a pair of sunglasses. They can be bent too, so they fit any head.I just finished my second one last night

IMG_7845

This one has a little green crystal that hangs onto your forehead.

IMG_7844

IMG_7863

 

So that’s just a little snippet into what I’ve been doing with my life. I don’t know where you’d wear one to, like maybe Renfest, maybe like a unicorn fairy thing? I don’t know, but they’re pretty and that’s enough for me for now.

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Jewelery, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unicorn Crowns

  1. Mme la Lune says:

    Whaaaaaouuuuuu ❤ !

    Like

Leave a Reply

