Lord of the Rings baby quilt

So now that we’re married, what’s next? BABIES!!

But no, we want to wait until we’re closer to 30, so stop. However, there must be something in the water, because everyone seems to be popping them out. I couldn’t throw a rock without hitting someone I know who’s either just had a baby or is currently pregnant. Which is great! We’re just going to wait a bit longer, which is even better.

However, that still leaves the fact that basically all of my high school friends who geeked out on LOTR with me have a kid under 3 or is pregnant. This gave me an idea to create a LOTR blanket for their babies (or they can keep it for themselves and not give it to dirty children, just a thought) So I made a LOTR alphabet quilt!

watermarkOTR alphabet

I used Elvish Ring font, which looks like Elvish but is actually just English letters made to look like Elvish. I almost made the words in the same font, but I felt it’d be too hard to read for kids, even though just the letters themselves might pose problems for younger kids. BUT WHO CARES ABOUT THEM. Hah, children.

So when I first started, I was like “Hmm, there are 26 letters in the alphabet, but it will be hard to fit 26 in a nice line, so I’ll just leave out like Z or something, yeah!” I did Yavanna for Y, and I had a few little animals sleeping around her with little ‘ZZZ’s’ over them, for the Sleep of Yavanna, sort of killing 2 birds with 1 stone. But then, after I made everything, I looked up Alphabet quilts and people just did it like this, 3 letters on the top and bottom row, and 5 on the others, because they’re smart. SO. Now we have naZgul for Z and just fruit and flowers with Yavanna.

X was hard, there’s nothing that starts with X in Arda, so I used helcaraXe, which is the snow and ice covered part in the north that the elves had to cross in the Silmarillion. Quite a few letters are from the Silmarillion. I didn’t want to do a ton of people, like F for Frodo, S for Sam, etc. I branched out. The letters are:

  • A: Arkenstone
  • B: Balrog
  • C: Caradhras
  • D: Doors of Durin
  • E: Ent
  • F: Fellowship of the Ring (heh)
  • G: Gwaihir
  • H: Hobbiton (I used my Sons of the Shire patch design for this)
  • I: Iluvitar (this one was hard to illustrate)
  • J: Jewels of Feanor
  • K: Kingsfoil (I had this as Athelas at first, but I switched A to Arkenstone)
  • L: Lembas
  • M: Mithrandir
  • N: Narsil
  • O: Orc
  • P: Po-ta-toes (this was my husband’s idea)
  • Q: Quenya
  • R: Rohan
  • S: Sauron
  • T: Telperion
  • U: Uruk-Hai
  • V: Valinor
  • W: White Tree of Gondor
  • X: helcaraXe
  • Y: Yavanna
  • Z: naZgul

Cute, yeah?! It won’t be too big, probably around 50 inches tall. I’ll either back it with a nice soft minky or just a normal cotton, but whatever it is, it’ll be pretty plain on the back. I’m excited to see how it turns out!

But seriously though, it’s so nice to think that these babies will grow up with awesome parents who will encourage and probably demand that their kids love LOTR. My parents begrudgingly let me geek out to it. I asked for a nice corset for my 18th birthday and my dad went “why can’t you just ask for a TV like all the other kids?!” but to be fair, the corset I wanted cost more than a a flat screen TV at the time (they had just come out on the market) I got it though!

This will hopefully be done in about 3 weeks-ish. Once I get the fabric in, I’ll make sure everything looks alright and then probably offer the design for sale on Spoonflower, so there can be LOTR baby quilts for everyone!

breecraft

 

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Lord of the Rings crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lord of the Rings baby quilt

  1. Pingback: Dealing with grief and death after a wedding | BreeCraft

  2. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Baby Quilt Round 2! | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

