Lord of the Rings Patches

Howdy! So since the wedding’s over, I’ve still been busy making and designing Lord of the Rings stuff, because that’s just the kind of person I am.

I’ve had this dingy old jacket for years and I was like “I want a ‘Riders of Rohan’ biker patch for it!” I think I originally said this my junior year of college, which was about 5 years ago. I finally made one! This has been my longest “I’m going to make this” idea, other than actually having a Lord of the Rings wedding, which I’ve wanted since I was an infant, so.

I designed not just a ‘Riders of Rohan’, but a ‘Sauron’s Sinners’ and a ‘Sons of the Shire’ one too, and now I need to buy 2 more jackets. They’re printed on a heavy cotton canvas and are a little under 8×8 inches. I need to cut them out and sew them on obviously, but I think they came out well!

The Riders of Rohan has horses, the sun of Rohan, one of the Rohirrim battle cries, and between the banner are a few of the flowers of Rohan, or simbelmynë, that grow on the graves of kings.

IMG_6834

On Sauron’s Sinners, we’ve got good ol Sauron, the One Ring script, flames, and the 9 Nazgul!

IMG_6831

My favorite and newest is the Sons of the Shire patch! This one took a very long time to make. A little Hobbit scene, with the Party Tree (there’s a banner and flags, which says “Happy 111th!” but the font was too small and while you can’t read it, I hope it’s obvious what party they’re having) Sting and a pipe flank the hobbit hole, and the One Ring is at the bottom. I love the quote “Courage is found in unlikely places” so I added that too.

IMG_6829

Like I said, they’re printed on heavy cotton canvas, which feels like thick denim and is great for patches. I cut around the black outline and just sew them to a jacket. I left the edges raw for a frayed look over time, but you can easily just put some Fray Check around the edges to prevent fraying. I think I’ll offer them for sale in my shop soon!

IMG_683611204486_10153124741197574_1422598852589281228_n

Yay!

Also, while it’s actually 2:30 AM on March 26th, happy (late) Tolkien Reading Day! on this day in the Third Age 3019, we had:

  • The Battle of the Morannon
  • Death of Gollum
  • Destruction of the One Ring in Mount Doom
  • Death of Sauron and complete destruction of his armies and buildings
  • Frodo Baggins and Samwise Gamgee rescued from Mordor by Gandalf and the Eagles

Cheers!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Lord of the Rings crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lord of the Rings Patches

  1. Pingback: Lord of the Rings baby quilt | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

