Wedding Update: We did it!

So, dear readers, it’s October 21st! And I got married on October 11th! So, that happened!

The last 2 months before the wedding flew by. Between sewing pillow books for my business and DIYing everything for the wedding, things got a little crazy. The wedding was also in Texas, where I’m from, though I currently live in Kansas, so that made things interesting as well. I legit have been neglecting this blog, so much so that I left my own wedding, the reason I started this thing, pass by without so much as a “OH GOD IT’S THE WEEK OF THE WEDDING” post.

Things went good though! There were a few hiccups, but that’ll be for a later time. For now, here’s all of the photos I took leading up to the wedding that I meant to post here, but did not. Lucky you!

I wanted our cake to sit on a tree stump, and happily, some friends of ours had a dead tree they needed to cut down. Our cake was 12 inches at the base, so this stump worked perfectly. (For real though, when I told people about this idea, they were like “where are you going to get a tree stump that big?” and I was like “people have dead trees in their yard all the time, this is Kansas, people have firewood, it’ll happen!” and lo and behold, it happened. Still, to this day, almost 2 weeks after the wedding, I still look in people’s yards for dead tree stumps and I’m like “Oooh, that one looks good!”)

I made all the guy’s boutineers and corsages for my mother, my mother-in-law, and my grandmother-in-law. The corsage pictured was for my mom, I used this beautiful butterfly key I’ve had for ages (keys were a running theme, could you tell?) some fabric leaves, white lace, gold beads, and a beautiful flower. These were worn on the chest, not the wrist. The other 2 I made for my in-laws were very similar, but with different keys and different colored flowers. The men’s bouts were actually a bit different than the one shown, the keys were wrapped in wire nicer and the steampunky gears were more intricate in the end. But, this is all I have to show right now!

My shoes! All done. I sewed the lace, beads, and crystals on, as well as attached a flower similar to the ones I used for the mother’s bouts and some green glass leaves. On the back of the shoes on the heels, I sewed on the little charms S and B, for my and my fiance’s name, Shanon and Brandon (it goes S then B. I was firm from the get go that our wedding would not be BS)

So, you’d think, ‘flats, OK, your feet won’t hurt at all!’ You’d be very, very wrong. My toes! The rubbed my toes raw, so much so, that I was in different shoes the second we were done with pictures. Damn you, you beautiful and deadly shoes!

IMG_3845

So for our seating chart and guest book, it was a little tricky. I’ve mentioned how I designed and laser cut 5 different wooden keys, which were to be for our guest book. I also bought a big cork board, made tags for every guest, then later we wrote their table number and table name on the tag (such as table 5, Gondor, or table 6, The Three Broomsticks). I then tied a key to a tag and push pinned it to the cork board. Guests then found their name and signed their key! We’ll eventually put them in a frame, but for now, they sit in a trunk. Most of the guests did this, happily! (I had a sign. TIP: use signs everywhere, people can be dumb, signs help)

I’ve also previously talked about my bridesmaid gifts. I bought little Evenstar earring sets and made them into necklaces, as well as added a pearl. I then put them into these little wooden boxes with each girl’s initial carved on them. They loved them! Our venue also had coozies for each girl, so that was fun.

I also made all of the paper goods for the wedding, including the invitations, RSVP cards, little business sized cards with our wedding website on it that I included in the invitation envelope, the wedding programs, round menus, and other things such as SIGNS (remember, signs are important), thank-you notes for our favors, and pictures such as “We know you’d be here today if Heaven weren’t so far away” for our memory chair at the ceremony. Here are our programs! They include our “Wedding Fellowship”, yay!

I finally settled on a design for the back of the invitations, one that I carried through many different parts of the wedding. It was like our own little brand. It incorporated both my new husband’s love for Harry Potter and my love of LOTR! It has “Always” for Harry Potter and Elvish letters on the sides for LOTR. Could have been better, but I made it like 3 hours before placing my order for the invites. It’s on the back of our wedding website cards, the invitations, the ring bearer’s pillow book, and our programs. I printed the invitations, RSVP cards and business sized cards through Vistaprint during a huge sale they had, and everything else such as the programs, menus, table number signs, and favor cards at Office Max.

Untitled-2

So, I talked about how we met with our caterer a while ago. I decided to make menus in Lord of the Rings style to put on the plates for the guests. Tadaa!

IMG_4403

Let me just tell you, cutting 115 of these round babies out was super fun. They sat inside the gold charges at everyone’s seat.

Our ring bearer was my fiance’s (and now MY) nephew! He was 3 1/2 at the time of the wedding and freaking adorable. Not sure if you knew, but I love Lord of the Rings. I also happen to have a business making pillow books. Our ring bearer was dressed as a Hobbit, because duh. It hit me about 2 weeks before the wedding that I should probably make a LOTR pillow book for him to carry down the aisle, because also duh. Here’s our wedding pillow book our nephew carried! LOTR of course. This is very similar to my Fellowship of the Ring pillow book that I sell, only with a few changes for personalization.

Inside I included the quote of Faramir and Eowyn. If you look closely, you can read the “Elvish” at the bottom, because its in English, just in an Elvish looking font (it says “Forever and Always”, which my husband says to me all the time. D’awww). I also included our little symbol I made that was on our invitations on the inside cover of the book. Yay!

Just a little fun thing, my bachelorette party! It was mellow, but great. We had the bachelor/bachelorette parties separately and on the Friday before our Sunday wedding, and I highly recommend not having yours the night before your wedding 😛

IMG_4537

Alright, wedding day! Everything went great! I couldn’t beleive how fast I got everything done. So we had a florist do 7 of the 14 table arrangments, but then I also made the other 7 myself out of a bird cage, twig wreath, and LOTR book pages. I also wanted to decorate the venue myself as well, such as put up a memory shelf of lost loved ones, set up the seating chart, all of the signs, and decorate the cake (cake is a sore subject for me, our cake was the 1 thing that went wrong during the wedding, but more on that later) We were able to arrive no more than 5 hours before the ceremony, and I had everything set up the way I wanted to in like 45 minutes. Granted I literally sprinted that entire 45 minutes, but it got done! My bridesmaids and wedding party also helped, and I could never have gotten it done without them. We then squeezed hair and make up for 8 people, me getting dressed, photos, a ‘first-look’ photo session, and wedding party photos into the other 4 hours! Everything went waaaay better than I ever imagined! I don’t have too many photos myself, but our professional photos will be in soon!

Woohoo, married!

12066070_10153573898431352_6032555466140298085_n

Woohoo, cutting that damn cake! (funny story, we used an ax to cut it, people were scared) Brandon’s cousin made us Hogwarts house scarves (he’s Slytherin, I’m something of a Ravenpuff) and he wore his during the entire reception! See our stump under the cake? I like it.

IMG_4542

So while our cake was a fiasco (though we did end up with one) we also had a S’mores bar! Our venue set up a little table with sterno lighters and rocks and we provided the food and skewers. We also used S’mores as our wedding favors too. I freaking loved it!

IMG_4525

Our wedding party decorated our get away car (which is just our normal car)

IMG_4528

Little did they know, I bought this window decal like 5 days before the wedding!

IMG_4523

Why yes, that is a Gandalf “You shall not pass” decal on the bottom right of the window (and an ‘Always’ Harry Potter on the bottom left in blue)

Yay, married! A lot has happened in these past 2 months, and I’m sorry I’ve not posted more. I promise that after I get a few posts about my own wedding out of the way in the next few weeks, we’ll return to our regularly scheduled ‘other people’s awesome LOTR wedding’ posts. How funny to think that I started this blog about 2 years ago with my wedding being both the inspiration and culmination of this blog, and now it’s over. I’d say it’s bitter sweet, but it’s mostly just sweet because I’M DONE. I DID IT. WE’RE MARRIED. THANK GOD. I have FREE TIME now. Sort of. Yay!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wedding Update: We did it!

  1. Pingback: My Wedding Photos | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

