Elessar the Elfstone Necklace

Howdy folks! So, as I’ve stated a million times, I started my own business recently. About a month ago, Buzzfeed featured one of my pillows in a list and I had about 2,000 views on my Etsy shop in 48 hours (I had been averaging about 800 a day previously). That was crazy and I’m still dealing with the orders from that.

A few days ago, at around midnight, I started to notice the same traffic and sales patterns that I received when Buzzfeed made the article. I went to bed and was awoken by my fiance standing over me, freaking out. He was like “You were featured on The Common Room!” which is a Harry Potter facebook group with over 100,000 fans. In less than 24 hours, I had received 12,000 views on Etsy and a loooot of orders! So I’ll just be sewing for the rest of my life then.

I also just had a birthday! I turned the ripe old age of 25, and that’s just a bit…weird. I don’t know how I feel about this. On the upside, I got some great gifts! My favorite is Elessar the Elfstone. I wrote about how I ordered this necklace months ago, but my fiance kept it and hid it until my birthday because he’s the devil. But now I have it, LOOK AT IT. (these were taken on my super special leather LOTR  book cover)

11863206_10152847057912574_6385724444392325495_n

It’s even better in person! This necklace/brooch is made by a company called Badali Jewelry and they make some amazing stuff! Here’s what they say about their Elessar pendant

Elessar was given to Aragorn by Galadriel as the fellowship departed Lothlórien in The Fellowship of the Ring.

‘Yet maybe this will lighten your heart,’ said Galadriel; ‘for it was left in my care to be given to you, should you pass through this land.’  Then she lifted from her lap a great stone of a clear green, set in a silver brooch that was wrought in the likeness of an eagle with outspread wings; and as she held it up the gem flashed like the sun shining through the leaves of spring.™

Galadriel gave Elessar to Aragorn on behalf of Arwen as a token of hope and of Arwen’s love.  Uplifted by Arwen’s gift, Aragorn assumes the role of leader for the fellowship.  By accepting the brooch, Aragorn also accepts his destiny as the rightful heir of Gondor.  The brooch would also serve as the source of his ruling name, King Elessar.  Bestowing the Stone of Eärendil to Aragorn also functioned as a wedding gift from the family of the bride to the groom, foretelling Aragorn’s marriage to Arwen.

So like I said, it comes in 2 forms, a necklace or a brooch. I actually ordered it as a brooch but added a “Mithril” chain at checkout so I could wear it both as a necklace and brooch. It’s just perfect. I chose the “Great Green Stone” version and it’s beautiful. It’s a bit dark when wearing it, but because the back is so open, light does go through it pretty well. It’s heavy, but not too heavy, and HUGE. I really like their interpretation of it. When I first read of Elessar, I guess I pictured something like this

Which I didn’t necessarily like too much. But looking at how Badali designed it, it’s completely perfect. Like, yes, that’s how it should look. IT’S SO PRETTY.

I freaking love it. I’m actually thinking of wearing it on my wedding cloak, on the clasp, for the ceremony then switching to Evenstar for the reception. I wanted my fiance to wear it, but he was like ‘nah’ SO, guess it’s up to me to represent.

One other great thing about Badali Jewelry is that they are actually licensed to sell Lord of the Rings jewelry and other fantasy and scifi stuff. Look at what else they’ve made

69840

Gandalf riding Gwaihir

This is their version of Nenya, which comes in a His or Hers, and also has leaf tracer bands that can sit next to the ring.

The 9 Dwarven Rings of Power

Thorin’s key necklace (not a movie replica, but their own design)

They have a ton of stuff. Lord of the Rings is also not the only fantasy novels they are licensed to make things for. They also do Wheel of Time stuff.

Guys. I know I’ve never mentioned this before, but I have a second love. Wheel of Time. I started reading these books right at the same time LOTR entered my life, in middle school. Me and my 2 best friends literally read these for YEARS (because there are 13 huge ass books, the last of which were only recently published) and if you’re a Wheel of Time fan, you need to see this.

70360

LIGHT BURN ME

69865

Mother’s milk in a cup!

Time to roll the dice!

Alright, I’m out of funky curse word sayings. But come on! Truth, I have not touched a WOT book in years and I need to reread like 1-10 before I start on the newer ones, but these babies were my LIFE at one time. Like, I can’t even explain to you what WOT meant to me. I’d literally not be where I am today if it weren’t for those books and the connections I made because of them. This is one of those ‘I can’t even’ moments.

I’m getting all misty eyed.

Anyways, I think we’ve seen enough to know that Badali Jewelery is amazing. I’ve not even covered a fraction of the things they make, so go check them out.

One last thing, here’s a picture of 3 out of 4 of my True Loves: Lord of the Rings, Wheel of Time, and cake (my 4th love is cats) look’s like there are at least 2 people who are as big of freaks as I am (or just 1 super determined freak and an indulgent spouse)

Alright, that’s all I’ve got for now, my sewing machine is a’callin. Bye!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Jewelery, My Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

