Bustling the Dress and Sewing the Shoes

The dress. Oh, the dress. Did I tell you the story about my dress? I did?

Don’t care, need to vent, listen to it again.

I got my dress at David’s Bridal. I tried on many dresses here in Kansas where I live before flying down to Texas to actually find the dress with my mom. We ended up settling on a dress from David’s Bridal. I tried on a sample size 12, and it fit perfectly, like a freaking glove. The lady helping me was like “It fits but you should get a size 10 so that the corset will be bigger and show more lacing” meaning the size 12 was a hair too big and the corset was laced tight, almost closed, and she suggested it be more open, showing the lacing more. Against my very best judgment, I consented to getting a 10.

I was a bridesmaid aaaages ago for my friends wedding. She had us go to David’s to get the bridesmaid dresses, and I must have made an account there. Well my old address was still on that account. The dress came in, I called and told them to send it to my family in Texas, but lo and behold, it was sent to a very old address, in a town I didn’t live in anymore. I even had a friend go over to my old apartment and check, but it wasn’t there. I myself was in town a few months later and attempted to go talk to the person who lived at my old apartment to see if they had gotten anything, but no one was home (not surprising, as I was banging and screaming on their damn door for my damn dress)

Once this mistake was noticed, David’s sent out a new dress pronto to my mother, and things were alright. Until a few months later, this past July, when I flew down to Texas to do wedding stuff. We went to the fitting, all happy and content, until I tried on the size 10 dress. It was, of course, too small. Like way too small. I cried a lot, but they were very nice and said they’d swap it for a 12. This was mailed to the David’s Bridal in Texas, but by that time, I needed it in Kansas to do my fitting, as I was no longer in Texas. Something happened and they got all confused and said it was already in Kansas, AT MY OLD ADDRESS AND I SERIOUSLY FLIPPED SOME SHIT. Like seriously.

But, this was a mistake, they were looking at my first dress that was indeed sent to the wrong address. They finally found my right dress and it was on it’s way to me, at the right address that I live at now. I got my dress, and just had my first fitting the other day. I must admit, I was a bit worried, as I have gained a bit of weight (but my clothes still fit, so I was like, I haven’t changed sizes)

It fit pretty good! A little tighter than I remember, but it’s all going to be OK. And the best news is that I didn’t need any alterations at all, not even hemming it! We just added a French bustle (which cost about $125 at Davids. Since I didn’t have any other alteration and the wedding is 2 months out, I was OK with this cost, it’ll be ready on September 9th)

Anyone marrying me within the next 2 months, avert your eyes! (anyone marrying me after the next 2 months, feel free to gaze)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Here’s the dress the day I picked it out, about…8 or 9 months ago?

IMG_0640

And here’s the dress, same size, from 5 days ago, with a French bustle being added for after the ceremony. See how much thicker the lacing is? That’s from cake. Mmmm, cake. Still a 12 though!

IMG_3481I have on a poofy mermaid petticoat under this that I also got at David’s to help the bottom flair out.

IMG_3485

IMG_3483I dunno, I know I’ve gained weight but I like it, I think I look pretty good in it. I’d always thought gaining weight would bother be really bad (I lost a lot of weight during college, I was pretty big in high school and for the past 6 years, I’ve been really consistent with my weight) but recently, I’ve gained a few pounds. But no, I know I’ve put on weight and I’m like “eh, I still like how I look, so it’s whatev” and I think I look OK. I’d like to skinny up my arms a bit, but if that doesn’t happen, oh well.

So yay dress!! Now look at my shoes I made!

IMG_2248

They’re ivory flats that had a bit of lace on them already, but I then went and added even more (the whiter lace) that I got from Joann’s Fabric. It’s also got pearls on it, and I’m going to add swavorski crystals too. I got the shoes at Payless for like 10$. Not the best photos, but still. IMG_2249

While my dress is ‘ivory’ as well, these shoes are a bit darker than the dress, which is OK. I really like them! I’m not done with them, of course, because I can’t ever finish anything ever, but they’re making progress!

Alright then, now I still need to make a new hood for my wedding cloak.

Next up, addressing and sending invitations. Woopie

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

