Florist meeting and the Venue

Another meeting I had during my Very Busy Wedding Weekend was meeting with my florist and touring the venue. My wedding venue, Agave Road, has an in house florist. I’m not required to use them, as I am with the caterers, but I chose to do so anyways because we didn’t need that much.

If you’ve read my past blogs, you’ll note that I am clinically insane, and because of that mental disorder, I’ve decided to make every flower for my bouquets. I need 6 bouquets for my girls and 1 for myself (plus a tossing bouquet I guess, which will be just fake flowers). While being insane is exhausting, it has also saved me a butt-load of money!

I’m not 100% on this, but I estimate that by not buying 7 bouquets, I’ve probably saved $1,000 on just bouquets. But, adding in the stress, time, and professionally mandated medication it’s taken me to actually make all of these flowers, I may have rather just forked over the money. These flowers, they are my Everest.

Our venue is absolutely gorgeous and even inside, it doesn’t need a lot of floral decorations. I’ve decided to go with a ton of greenery, a bit of gold touches, and that’s pretty much it. I don’t think there will be a single real flower there. There’s nothing wrong with real flowers of course, I’m just saying I saved a lot of money by not using them.

I’ll tell you what we’re getting. Our wedding venue comes with 2 centerpieces that are included with the hall rental. They are a combination of short candle holders and tall lanterns. Months and months ago, I found these bird cages on super sale from Michaels and I decided to replace the short candle holders with my own centerpieces, which look something like this

IMG_2387

During my meeting with the florist, we decided to decorate the tall lanterns like this

reception-at-agave-road-wedding

The tall lanterns are on the right. The short candle holders I’ll be replacing are in the back that you can’t see very well. I may do something with them, but I’m not sure. So we have 8 centerpieces I’ll be bringing, and 7 that the florist is doing.

We’re also having greenery along the fireplace for the ceremony, similar to this (this is the actual fireplace we’ll be married in front of!)

https://i0.wp.com/www.agaveestates.com/img/portfolio/Gallery11.jpg

Yay! The mothers of the bride and groom will get wrist corsages too.

Now, we come to probably the most important decision all brides must face. This can and will make or break a wedding.

IMG_3495 IMG_3496

That’s right. NAPKIN FOLDS.

Legit don’t even care. But I do get to pick out the linens.  I sort of care about that. I’m thinking of going with black under lay with a shimmery taupe overlay. The colors that come with the hall are black, white and taupe. I’ve picked gold chargers and black napkins.

IMG_3497 IMG_3498 IMG_3499

Riveting, isn’t it? It’s all part of the glamorous lifestyle that comes with planning a wedding.

Still no word on what the boutineers will be, that’s one area of the wedding I haven’t even tackled yet. I’ve at least thought on and hyperventilated over the seating chart, the order of the bridesmaids and which lucky SOBs gets to make a toast, but nothing on the boutineers. Maybe I’m saving that for the week of the wedding, to be the deliciously chaotic cherry on top of the mess and mayhem that is my life. For funsies.

But, slowly, things are coming together! Some would say too slowly *coughmymothercough* but it is coming together!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Bouquet, Bouquets and Flowers, Inspiration, My Wedding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

