Bridal Shower Number 1

Do you know what today is, readers? It’s 55 days until our wedding.

Oh my sweet Jesus, I can’t do this.

The reason I’ve been so freaking busy is because 1. I started my own company a few months ago, and 2. Buzzfeed featured one of my book pillows on a list and things went bat-shit crazy. I sold a month’s worth of orders in 2 days, I spent more on fabric than I do on rent for a month, I have over 60 book pillows to sew in less than 2 weeks AND I’m trying to plan a wedding!

Nope. Nope nope nope, can’t do this. My days teeter from crying hysterically while trying not to stab myself with my needles as I sew to psychotically rocking back and forth, whispering “everything will be OK, everything will be OK”

But, c’est la vie! In 55 days, all I’ll have to worry about will be my business and this wedding will be a thing of the distant, chaotic past.

I am very excited about the wedding, don’t get me wrong, but there are just not enough hours in the day to do everything! Plus, sometimes I’m just like “I’m gunna go take a nap”

But anyways! So, about a month ago, my fiance, his mother, my maid of honor, and myself flew down to Texas, where I was born and raised, where my family lives, and where the wedding will take place to do a whole bunch of stuff. In 3 days, we

  • met with our minister
  • met with the caterer and picked out the food
  • met with the cake lady and picked out the cake
  • met with the florist and picked out the flowers
  • toured the venue again
  • met with my coordinator
  • had hair and make up trial
  • had a couple’s shower!

This was a very hectic but fun weekend!

My favorite part was our wedding shower. We had it at my family home and invited way too many people. I don’t think we’ve ever had that many people in our house, ever.

It was British Tea Party themed and naturally, all of the decorations came from my own apartment. I’m obsessed with British things, guys. We went and bought scone mix at a British foods store here in Kansas and baked them in Texas the night before. We also bought a lot of Union Jack plates, cups, and bunting. I made these cute little paper tea cups and hung them from the lights. My mom made chicken salad sandwiches and my aunts brought cakes.

IMG_2377

This is a Marauder’s Map paper tea cup I made

IMG_2379

This is a little LOTR one I made! The outside of the cup is a pretty Hobbit Hole

IMG_2382IMG_2381IMG_2383

Totes adorbs!

IMG_2385 IMG_2384Here’s a version of our centerpieces I made with a bird cage, stick wreath, LOTR book pages, moss, and a candle. Don’t mind the keys, those are for our guest book but we wanted them to be out so people could see them.

IMG_2387

Look at this cake my cousin got us!

IMG_2390

IMG_2391So freaking cute, and it was so good!

Then we sat around and opened presents. Good times!

IMG_2417

IMG_2419

IMG_2644

There was 1 small problem though. It seems some of my family mistook the British flag for the much debated Confederate flag, because…I have no freaking idea why, but they did. So, I guess some guests were all huffy over what they thought, but all we can do now is laugh. Hard. Because if I don’t laugh at the stupidity, I might very well cry over it. *face palm*

All in all, a great weekend! Next up, what to expect when meeting with your caterer.

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in My Wedding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

