Wedding Update

Howdy friends! It seems it’s been about a month since I last posted. I’ve been crazy busy making my books and business is booming. Which then means that wedding planning has taken a big back seat. Like, I’m driving a limo here and the wedding is waaaay in the back. But the wedding is in only about FOUR FLIPPING MONTHS.

I know I need to get back on track! Coming up here in about two weeks, myself, my fiance, my maid of honor, and my future mother-in-law are all flying to Texas to stay with my family and meet with vendors. As the wedding is in my hometown in Texas and we live in Kansas, planning has been a bit hard. Originally, we were suppose to land Thursday night and fly back Sunday evening, but since I work from home now, I’m actually staying another week, while everyone else goes back Sunday. However, we still have a jam packed schedule. On Friday we are:

  • Meeting our officiate for breakfast at 8:30
  • Florist meeting at 10
  • Caterer at 12
  • Cake lady at 1:30
  • Tour the venue at 3

Then, on Saturday, I’m having a hair and make-up trial at 10 and a bridal shower at 2! Very exciting, I’m going to see friends and family I haven’t seen in ages, some in years. My Kansas friends and family now get to meet my Texas friends and family, and I’m hoping my wedding party will all be in the same house for the first time! I’m terrified, but excited. I’ll also be going to get my dress altered to fit while I’m in Texas, and possibly meeting with my wedding coordinator about linens, set up, etc. Yay!

The shower will be British tea party themed, because I LOVE all things English. The decor will be provided by me, because I’ve got about 10 years worth of British things like old maps, British flag bunting, little red phone booths, all sorts of stuff. Here is the invitation I designed for the shower!

IMG_2251We went to a local British shop and bought scone mix to bake, jams, Union Jack plates and cups, and other British goodies, I’m so excited! (Between you and me, I was seriously trying to plan  a LOTR shower, but no one else was on board so I had to scrap it, sad day. But, I’m still excited and I know it’ll be great!)

So, unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past 24 hours, I’m betting you’ve head the amazing news that the US just called it unconstitutional to deny marriage rights to same-sex couples, and that’s great! I’m sure there will be a lot of turmoil still to come, and gays are far from being treated as equal here, but it’s a big step! Lord of the Rings weddings should be able to be had by all, no matter their gender! Ilúvatar  made us all equal! (except  not really, but shh)

In honor of everyone being able to marry, here’s this amazing gem.

11202566_10207399520125456_5323272756058034883_nTadaa! It’s a good day 🙂  OK, I’m gunna go sew more books and try not to cry over all the stress, here we go!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in My Wedding, Paper Goods and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

