I’m trying to make that banner in Arwen’s bedroom

https://i0.wp.com/www.angelfire.com/wizard/travelgnome/images/aragarwen/arwen7.jpg

Arwen: Daddy, I love him!
[gasps]
Elrond: No! Have you lost your senses completely? He’s a human, you’re a mermaid!

https://i1.wp.com/img-www.theonering.net/movie/preview/images/ttt01_165.jpg

That banner thing. You’ve all seen it! And some super commendable people have made it. I’ve found a whole slew of them on a website called Alley Cat Scratch, they make all sorts of great stuff.

Classy Interiors Deco on Etsy made an amazing one and was selling it for…uh…a shit ton of money (over $1500) and I was like woah there, but in all seriousness, it really is amazing and you know a ton of work went into it. SOMEONE BOUGHT IT. That lucky rich (not anymore though, and I right?) bastard. I bet their wedding or home is amazing! Dammit.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/c6/14/30/c61430672391d0eedb541e7a445e1d6b.jpg

The Etsy store also has a ton of other cool and cozy LOTR pillows and homey things too, so don’t feel bad that you missed out.

So a lot of people sew or embroider theirs, and I would too, but I just feel like there’s something else I need to be doing. Something else I can do…it’s on the tip of my tongue, but I can’t quite think of it-OH, plan a wedding. In a perfect world, yes, I’d totally do this ‘right’ and embroider it and shit.

Then again, some have used fabric glue and paint to get the design, because they are sane. Here’s one with paint

https://i2.wp.com/www.alleycatscratch.com/lotr/scrapbook/Sidhe/finalbanner3.jpg

Still saner ones have used bonding agents to glue and meld fabric to each other without sewing

https://i2.wp.com/www.alleycatscratch.com/lotr/scrapbook/DebiM/Arwen_bedroom_banner.jpg

And I don’t know. I don’t know for the life of me how I stumbled on to this website, and I don’t freaking know what the hell has possessed me to be like “Yes, I will make that banner, cool idea bro” but before I knew it, 2 hours had passed and I was meticulously looking at every photo I could find of it online to make it in Photoshop.

My plan is to make it all in Photoshop then print it on 2 yards using Spoonflower. God I love that website, I just ordered a yard of more book pillows I made last night, they’re amazing. So, here’s what I have so far.

arwens banner

Do keep in mind that I used a pen tool to make all of this and the center celtic weave thing on top was HELLA hard. I used about 3 or 4 different banners for reference, all of which are different, so that’s super helpful.¬† You can’t see it, but the leaves have ‘silver’ (gray) veins. One yard will be the center section and the other will have the two side banners. I’d love to embellish it after I get it in, and I plan to some day. Like silver cord along the trees, yeah?

So, you know, because I have nothing else to do, I may make this for the wedding, it’s whatevs. Yay

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Wedding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m trying to make that banner in Arwen’s bedroom

  1. Induvit says:

    Reblogged this on induvit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

