The Bridesmaid Dress Situation

Alright, we’re getting into the nitty gritty of wedding planning; involving others. Truth – yes, I’m DIYing a TON for our wedding and truth – no, I really don’t want any help. I work well with others, honestly! But sometimes it’s easier for me to just do it myself.

In high school, I was into technical theatre. I loved doing props because I got to make things. Back then, I would find, make, and collect the props, set up the props table, remind actors to check, set, and retrieve their props (dozens of times) and take care of everything backstage from start to finish of all shows. When I went to college and continued my technical theatre education, I learned that while I do make, get, and collect the props, about 3 weeks before a show went on, I got a props crew. I trained my crew on how to store, maintain, and set props, and then then I sat back. They took care of everything, and this was EXTREMELY hard for me. Literally, the first show I was props master for, I flipped out and would not leave backstage for the first performance because I was like I WILL DO IT. By my last show I did, 5 years later, I was like see ya! I’ve definitely learned to let go of things and trust people.

Sort of.

Some people are like “yeah, let’s have a wedding craft night!” but I’m like “I’ll just cut all of these things out myself” and I love that. I’m kind of treating the wedding as I do a show. I have a deadline, I have departments (set – decor, costumes – dress and wedding party clothes, props – bouquets, invitations, etc.) and I’m doing it all. The best part is though, I’m the director and no one can tell me they cut a scene or that everything NEEDS to be one specific color (I seriously hate colored shows, like when all the props have to be black and white). I control it! And while that’s stressful, I’m totally ready to handle that.

But now I have bridesmaid dresses. I’ve decided to go with a company called Azazie. They specialize in bridesmaid dresses and they have a ton of colors and styles. I’ve read good things about them, despite them being a relatively new company. I went ahead and ordered some swatches from them and they are impressive. They are $2 a swatch but you get the color in every fabric they offer, satin, chiffon, charmeuse, and tulle, and shipping was hella fast. One other thing I liked about them  is that while they have set sizes from 2-26W, you can also put in your specific measurements for bust, hips and waist and have a dress made specifically for you. Hopefully this will eliminate the need for alterations.

My idea is to pick out a color, fabric, and length, and have my girls take it from there. They can then pick out the style they want. I’ve decided on the color grape, in chiffon, knee length or asymmetrical (like a hi-low dress) and this gives them about 100 options to choose from.

https://i2.wp.com/dojygcq45t31s.cloudfront.net/upimg/azazie/h/d2/3d/56a55f7ca806ac71d06ee6887490d23d.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/dojygcq45t31s.cloudfront.net/upimg/azazie/h/95/86/f0e5513b9c79cb35af31bcc694d99586.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/dojygcq45t31s.cloudfront.net/upimg/azazie/h/96/15/e96dffe72ed471872a552c77288f9615.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/dojygcq45t31s.cloudfront.net/upimg/azazie/h/d2/b0/80759960ad59663c6f92cb44b7cfd2b0.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/dojygcq45t31s.cloudfront.net/upimg/azazie/h/a9/a8/2cc00da68377be9f2d62dcff4b36a9a8.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/dojygcq45t31s.cloudfront.net/upimg/azazie/h/93/da/75c4e518e0c85cb21cc28a670bf593da.jpg

These are just some of the options they have in my specifications. I just emailed all my girls and told them about this, and one has even picked out her dress! It takes about 5-7 weeks to get your dress in once you order it, so we have plenty of time before the wedding in October.

I’m just…worried. It’s like a big step! It’s like when I booked our venue, or the photographer! It makes it seem so real! Now, I’m not the only one doing things for the wedding! Soon, 6 other people will have invested time and money into this and it feels too real! It’s like, now that others are ‘working’ on the wedding, it’s a legit thing. I guess before, I sort of felt like all those hours making flowers and designing invitations was like…talking to an imaginary friend. But now, other people are like “oh hey imaginary friend” and I’m like, you can see them too?! Now, it’s really real and happening. By my girls buying their dresses, other people are acknowledging that our wedding will in fact take place and these things I’ve been making will need to be ready and set for show time.

I’m just trying to breathe and imagine all my girls looking pretty. So, bridesmaids dresses, check! It’s getting real, y’all!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in My Wedding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bridesmaid Dress Situation

  1. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Bridesmaid Dresses | BreeCraft

  2. Pingback: Reveiw of an Azazie Bridesmaid Dress | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

