Kansas City Planet Comicon 2015

So, this past weekend has been a wonderful respite from wedding planning. Here in Kansas City, we had not one, but TWO conventions! There was Nakakon, an anime convention, and Planet Comicon, a comic convention. Don’t ask me why the two organizations are held on the same weekend, because frankly it only divides not only the fan base but vendors as well, you know? But whatever, it just made for a super fun weekend for us!

My maid of honor and I went to the anime con Friday and then a ton of my friends and I went to Comicon Saturday. As you can possibly guess, I found a lot more Lord of the Rings items at Comicon, though with the recent popularity of The Hobbit movies, there was a good chunk of Middle-Earth goodness at the anime con as well.

My friends and I dress up in our steampunk garb when we go to these things and we meet up with our other steampunk friends. To be honest, I ran into maybe 10 different people that I had no idea were going to be there, it was a great time. We also met a lot of new steampunk people from the area and it was great to see old friends and make new ones. Here are some parts of my garb I’ve made over the years.

I’ve added a few things, like adding a gauntlet piece to my sewing bracer. First, it was just the bracer part, with a little pincushion, removable scissors, and 4 spools of thread that unwind. It’s made of leather, and I made it maybe 2 years ago.

bracer collageI decided to make it into a gauntlet for Comicon though, and added the hand part to it a few days ago. It’s made of leather as well, dyed the same color (which I’m glad I still had after 2 years!) little buttons for a knuckle duster, and metal filigree rings that lock together for the finger guards. The fingers were the hardest part! The middle one started to pop out, so I’ll need to fix that very carefully before the next con.

q r^ ‘ello foot ^

Yay! It went really well, and other than one of the finger guards popping out, it held up pretty good.

I’ve also made this brass and nickle box in a metalsmithing class I took in college a few years ago. I etched the design in and cut the nickle designs out with my jewelers saw, which took like 5 years. It’s laced together with thick thread, because to be honest, I ran out of time to rivet it together. The lacing was actually cut at the con though, I think it rubbed against the metal too much, but I’ve worn this thing probably 20 times since I made it and this is the first trouble I’ve ever had, so that’s pretty good! I just re stitched it up, good as new!

And my goggles and boot straps, made of leather, metal, and other stuff

together gogglesHere’s it all together

IMG_20130316_141346 IMG_20130316_141415

Here are a few photos from Nakakon on Friday

And Comicon, Saturday, where I met the best Merida cosplay! And steampunk Darth Vader and Princess Leia, a great Demona from Gargoyles, and an adorable Venture Brothers family.

Alright, I know there are a lot of photos in this post already, but I need to show you this beautiful Lord of the Rings cosplay I saw at Comicon. I hardly got to speak to the woman, but she was lovely and looked great. I believe she made everything, though I didn’t get to ask, something was going on and I had to run. Her cloak was amazing, it had elvish along the hem, and it looked like it was painted on the fabric. I asked her what it meant and she told me, but for the life of me I can’t remember exactly what she said but I think it was a bible verse. She looked amazing! (click the photos to make them bigger)

Reminds you of Eowyn’s dress, right? Yeah, love it.

http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=38053600

A friend of mine I ran  in to at Comicon also bought this awesome leather etched Middle-Earth map, and it was THE LAST ONE. Of course.

IMG_0810The best part of the whole weekend, other than seeing tons of old friends was meeting none other than the actor who played Hershel from The Walking Dead!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xap1/v/t1.0-9/p480x480/10891917_935438356490991_7197856536190480030_n.jpg?oh=1beac8c7f1611a445f8740868adb04ca&oe=555FDDD1&__gda__=1432322447_c209836d83f20c122585142af4bde7e3

Also, Merle was there too, but sadly I did not get to meet him. Carey Elwes from The Princess Bride was there as well, and while a few of my friends met him, I sadly did not. But still, I was so happy to meet Scott Wilson!

It was a great weekend, and I made sure to look out for all things Lord of the Rings. There were a lot of cheap Evenstar’s, and of course a plethora of The One Ring. There was a great poster booth with a whole sectoion just for LOTR posters, and they had some of the original movie posters, which I haven’t seen in years. They also had some great map posters I’ve never seen in person. Sadly, we’ve maxed out our wall space in our tiny apartment, so I didn’t get any. But it was lovely to see them.

So that’s all I’ve got today. It was a nice little break and distraction from wedding planning, but now that the cons are over, it’s back to wedding crafting, emailing, and calling every one on the face of the earth. Take care!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in My Wedding, Steampunk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

