I sent out our Save the Dates!

I did it! Today, we officially sent out our save the dates, yay! Here are our save the dates:

3Then you spin the gear and it reveals…

4Important information!

The gears are made of laser cut card board. I designed everything in photoshop, then sent the gear file to someone with a laser printer, who cut them and mailed them to me. I then spray painted them gold and attached them to the card stock save the date with a brass brad. I also used a special cutter tool to round out the edges of the card. It’s 5.5 in tall and 4.25 wide. I had them printed at Office Max with 2 per sheet on thick card stock, and it went great.

So, we took one to the post office to see how much it would weigh for postage. They told us it would be 70 cents, mainly because they would have to hand cancel them at the post office, as oppose to a machine. We mailed out two already, to our parents, and both got them just fine with no issues! So, today we took them all to the post office and talked to THE nicest postman ever. He really helped us figure everything out and even suggested we stamp “non machinable” on them to ensure they did not go through a machine which might damage them.

My fiance really wanted Harry Potter stamps

Harry Potter

However, these are ‘forever’ stamps and that means they are only worth like 49 cents, so we needed an extra 21 cents. The postman suggested these Abe Lincoln stamps to go with the Harry Potter ones. His reasoning was because “Abe and Harry both have an ‘A’ in their name” alright then. So we went with it, because he did have a point.

Abraham Lincoln 21¢

Good ol’ Abe. I had wanted these 70 cent butterfly stamps though (mainly because there were no Lord of the Rings stamps, which is dumb, right?)

Great Spangled Fritillary 70¢

So we kind of made a compromise. We got 20 Harry Potter stamps and used those for our friends and family who actually know what Harry Potter is, which included most of our wedding party and younger friends, and then used the butterfly stamps for people who probably don’t know what Harry Potter is.

We also found this cute bird cage tape in the clearance section and used that to ensure the envelopes stayed shut!

IMG_0554

Here are the Harry Potter stamps

IMG_0555

IMG_0556

And the butterfly ones

IMG_0557

Putting them all together!

IMG_0558

All ready to go!

IMG_0559

and off they go. The hard part was stamping the ‘non machinable’ on the envelope because we were afraid to squish the gear. But I think everything went alright. Exciting! Also, while we were putting stamps on, a woman walked by and goes “Oh, those envelopes are beautiful, it looks like a fun wedding, I want to go!” and it was so nice to hear a random stranger like my envelopes. And, she was right, it will be a fun wedding.

We also went to Bed, Bath, & Beyond and started our registry! That was hard, and we’re not done by a long shot. But, we did important wedding things today!

On a side note, I bought a Merida shirt today also.

Have I ever told you how much I love Merida? Probably not, but I do. I decided to wear my only other adult sized Merida shirt (yes, I do have child Merida shirts too, but they don’t fit, sadly) today. At Bed Bath & Beyond, our registry consultant was like “Where did you get that shirt? My wife loves Merida” and I came on WAY too strong about my love for her to this stranger. But yay, Merida!

So, that was our exciting wedding day, hope you enjoyed it!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Invitations, My Wedding, Paper Goods and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

