Got My Wedding Sword!

Friends! So, a few weeks ago, I made this post about how I had found the sword I wanted to make into my bouquet. If you’re thinking “the fuck is she doing carrying a sword as a bouquet?” then go read this post about my sword bouquets and get caught up.

So, I bought this sword called the”43 Kings Battle Sword” but looks suspiciously like Narsil, only…daintier? I bought it from DefenderKnives.com for $26.w2874handle

You can see the pommel and the hand guards do resemble Narsil, but there’s definitely some creative licensing going on in the middle. I kind of like that though. I had said previously how the reason I bought this sword, as oppose to an actual reproduction of Narsil, is because it was so cheap (as I’d feel very bad about cutting up a REAL Narsil) and because it’s different. I think it’s pretty. Here it is!

IMG_0530

So, the photo on the website makes it look very bright. I was also worried about how the pommel actually looks. The photo is not clear, but this is what the actual Narsil reproduction is suppose to look like

https://i1.wp.com/www.elvish.org/gwaith/graphics/narsilrunes.jpg

My concern was founded, and the pommel on the sword I ordered is incredibly lacking. It’s bad

IMG_0521

So, it’s really just meh. But it’s still OK. As in the original, there are gold accents, which I like.

Also as oppose to the photo of the sword, it’s actually much darker in person. The photo looks like bright silver, but the actual sword is a dark pewter, which I rather prefer. I was also worried it would be small. Those fears were totally unfounded, because this thing is HUGE.

IMG_0520

It’s laying on top of a standard printer paper and this is definitely a two handed sword, which I’m glad!

Here’s a close up of the middle details

IMG_0522

It’s alright looking from a few feet away, but really getting up close, it’s sloppy. Which is something I expected, it’s cheap. But honestly, I’m not bothered by the imperfections and I’m a fan.

Here’s the little gold details at the end of the hand guards.

IMG_0523Big

IMG_0525

I’ll be cutting the blade off about 4-5 inches out from the tip of the hilt

IMG_0526

The side doesn’t have much, but the seams are relatively clean, aside from a small seam right where the hand grip meets the hand guards. Also, the blade doesn’t fit very well between the hilt

IMG_0524

IMG_0528I’ll be taking my metal files to it to clean up the seams and file down any metal burs. All in all, I’m pretty happy with it for how cheap it was. I’ll be carrying it down the aisle, and I don’t exact anyone to really see it up close ever, you know? A few photos, maybe my bridesmaids will see it before the wedding, but it’s not like it’s my dress or the cake or anything, no one will be close to it. Plus, I’m doing this for me. Even if no one ever saw it, I’ll know what it is, and I’ll love it. I also have an idea to frame it in a shadow box after the wedding, as I’m making the flowers out of coffee filters, so they’ll keep, you know?

Yay sword!

IMG_0527

So maybe now I should get to work on finishing those last few flowers, huh? That’ll only take me about 5268 weeks. Alrighy then.

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Bouquet, My Wedding, Tutorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got My Wedding Sword!

  1. Pingback: Update on my Sword Bouquets | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

