How to Print Your Addresses on an Envelope

So, I don’t have to work tomorrow and I told myself I will 1. clean, and 2. work on wedding stuff that needs to be done NOW. We are set to send our Save the Dates out this month (Feb.) and this HAS to happen. I missed my bouquet making deadline I set, which was in October, so I’m 0 for 0 on making deadlines. Let’s do these save the dates!

I have terrible hand writing, just awful. So, I decided to print the addresses on the envelopes. I did this when I sent my bridesmaids letters a few months ago.

IMG_20140521_234735

and, once again, I’m using brown craft paper envelopes. So, today I’m going to show you how to print your addresses on your envelopes without adjusting your printer at all, and it’s pretty easy, though a bit tedious.

Things you’ll need:

  • envelopes
  • your addresses
  • a printer with whatever color ink you want to print (I used black)
  • tape
  • an 8.5×11 piece of card stock or thicker paper. You can use normal printer paper, but you’ll need about 3 or 4 if you use this
  • either a photo editing program, or good ol’ Word

Step One

Measure your envelope . Mine are 7.25 wide and 5.25 tall. Measure exact.

Step Two

Using a photo editing program, create a document the exact size of your envelope. If you’re using Word, try using the ‘Insert-Shape’ tool and make a rectangle the exact size of your envelope on a page in Word. Make the background white, but be sure to have a black thin border the exact size of your envelope. Here’s what I did in Word.

1

The idea is that we have our exact sized envelope in Word that we can work with. Load your paper into your printer and print this shape. Be sure to pay attention to which way the paper prints and how it loads, as we don’t want to accidentally print our addresses upside down when we start to print on the envelopes.

Step Three

Go back to your document and add in your own address as it would go on a normal envelope. Try being creative or using fun fonts, as nice looking writing is the reason we’re printing these, and not hand writing them!

2

Step Four

Type in your first address where a normal address would go. Be sure to make the address part easily legible though. I also added a fun little design.

3

Here’s my rectangle I printed on the paper, though I did test out how everything fit by printing an address in it.

IMG_0513

Step Five

Get the rectangle you just printed, your envelope, and two small pieces of tape. Tape the envelope to the paper exactly in the rectangle. It should fit perfectly. We tape the envelope so that it feeds into the printer along with the paper. You don’t have to secure it a lot, I used two small pieces on the top and bottom and gently pressed them down. We will have to remove this tape, so don’t press it too firmly or you may tear the paper or your envelope. Be sure to not accidentally tape the envelope upside down!

IMG_0514

Once you’ve gotten your rectangle printed, you may want to erase it or hide it, so that you don’t print a black rectangle on your actual envelope when we start printing on envelopes. That way, you’ll only print the words you typed, not the rectangle. Be sure to not move your addresses so they stay consistent while printing.

Now, load your paper into the printer. I did this one envelope at a time. Because I used a thicker card stock for this, my paper held up after reusing it about 50 times, but when I used normal printer paper, I had to re print the rectangle about 4 times because my paper became wrinkled.

Step Six

Print your document exactly as it is. Because we’ve typed inside the rectangle we have in Word, the words are printed in the exact same spot on the paper, only now there is an envelope taped to it.

Step Seven

Enjoy! Now you can go in to your document and type in a new address. I copied and pasted a lot. Replace your envelope with a new one, and repeat!

IMG_0515

Always be sure to line your envelope up with your printed rectangle exactly. Once, I had it a smidge too low and our address at the top left was cut off a bit, so I had to reprint it on a new envelope.

Tadaa! To print all of my groom’s side took about an hour and I printed probably 40-50 envelopes. It’s kind of tedious like I said, but trust me, these look 100 times better than if I wrote them myself.

IMG_0516

For references, the curly font I used is called Contribute and is available for free person use at Dafont.com. The swirly decorative bit is a dingbat font called Another Ornaments TFB, also from Dafont.

Now, stuff these babies, slap a stamp on them, and send ’em out! Exciting feeling, right? Or terrifying, whatever works.

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Invitations, Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

