My Wedding Cloak

Ok guys, I finished it! A while ago, I posted about how I had gotten my lace cape in. I wanted to make this into a cloak, so I added a hood and clasp. I really like it, though I may add some lace flower appliques in the future (if I can find any to sort of match the cape fabric)

Here’s my cape before any additions

IMG_0076

IMG_0069

Since I couldn’t find fabric to match the cape’s, I went with plain ivory bridal tulle. I looked at a few hood making tutorials online and examined some of my clothes that have hoods on  them. I ended up making 2 hoods, the first wasn’t billowy enough. The hood back is also pointy, which I’ll need to fix, as I want it to be rounded, but that will be quick.

IMG_0205

(yes, that’s a paintbrush sticking up from my form, it helps hold the hood up!) The tulle matches really well. I also added a cloak clasp. I bought it at Joann’s Fabric. It originally connected together, but I felt that it was too tight. So, I broke off the hooks it had, filed down the metal, and added a byzantine chain I made. The chain is made from sterling silver jump rings I got from a friend ages ago. While the metals don’t match, I rather like it. The chain is sewn to the cloak on the left side, but connects on the right by a hook that is sewn under the cloak clasp.

IMG_0206

IMG_0208

IMG_0166

Pardon my rapture-stance. I’m a dinosaur.

IMG_0174IMG_0190

All in all, I’m pretty happy. The hood tends to slide off my hair a lot, so I’m going to add a tiny little loop of thread on the seam right at my hairline for a bobby pin perhaps.

It took about 3 hours to add the hood, which I patterned myself after watching oodlys of Youtube tutorials, because a lot of hood tutorials ask you to gather the cape part of the cloak up. I couldn’t do this, as the cape neck was only 18 inches anyways, there was nothing to gather up! It took a bit of fanangeling, and I still need to fix the pointyness of the hood, but there you go!

So, my veil is done. It’s not the vision I first intended when I imagined a cloak for my wedding, but it means a lot to me because I made it (some of it). I won’t be able to try it on with my dress, as my dress is now in Texas where my family lives, and where the wedding will be held at. I’ll probably be down there in July though, so that’s something to look forward to!

Well, that’s about it, thanks for reading guys!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Wedding Goods and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Wedding Cloak

  1. 情趣用品 says:

    Awesome! Thanks your sharing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: BreeCraft

  3. Pingback: Bustling the Dress and Sewing the Shoes | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

