Reveiw of my awesome etched Elvish bracelet

Today’s the day! A few weeks ago, I purchased a custom listing from ByCopperfield on Etsy. They make beautiful leather and copper bracelets with etched sayings and designs on them. They even have a pre-made Elvish one!

It says “I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the ages of this world alone”

But, like I said, they also have a customized option where you can send them any saying you want, in any language, and they’ll make it just for you.

I’ve always have a strong affinity for the line Galadriel says, “May it be a light for you in dark places, when all other lights go out”. I take it personally, and as we all know, I love Lord of the Rings. It’s always been my light in dark places, it inspires me, and it’s something that I deeply love. I don’t have any tattoos, and while I don’t really care to get one, if I ever did, I’d get that line in Elvish.

But, maybe I’d prefer something a little less permanent. So, I purchased the custom listing and set to work actually figuring out exactly what I wanted etched on my bracelet.

I’d found a pretty good translation of the line I wanted a few months ago, but I didn’t know if ByCopperfield would want an image of the line, or if it needed to be typed. What I mean is, should I send them a jpeg of the line, or actually copy and paste the words into a message to them so they could then copy and paste that into what ever they used to etch the copper. I figured that since I liked the line so much and I may use it again, I’d type it out. This took like…4 hours to do. Here’s the photo of the line that a very good Elvish translator translated.

 photo AndforyouFrodoBagginsIgiveyouthelightofEaumlrendil_zps5ab2b574.pngSo, in theory, I could just crop out all the other stuff I didn’t want and send them just the lines I did want. But, like I said, I thought they may like actual text vs a photo. So, using the font Tengwar Annatar from Dafont.com, which we’ve talked about in this post, I set to work in typing it out.

Now, you can’t just type out “May it be a light for you…” while in the Tengwar font, that’s not how you translate things, right? So I had to find which English letter made the right Elvish letter. This took FOREVER. I actually used the handy guide on the dafont Tengwar site, which tells you which English letter makes which Elvish letter, and that helped. However, getting each little accent and those little 3 dashed things over some letters was still hard. Finally, dear readers, I had it.

If you download the Tengwar Annatar font from Dafont and past in this

tl# 1% w`V `C jv1 e6^ h.H 5% 26Ez qjiDiR o5$ j# 4Y6F jv%1+x`N .H1

exactly how it is, you’ll get this

shanonsmithSo, I contacted ByCopperfield and told them what I had done. It turns out they use the exact same font, so I could easily send them my jumble of letters and they could paste it into Photoshop or whatever they use, while using Tengwar font, they’d get exactly what the photo above shows. This allowed them to be able to spit the font into however many rows they needed without having to crop, move, and reposition a photo.

Now it was time to make my bracelet! You measure your wrist size exactly and ByCopperfield will add on extra length to it. I originally wanted there to be two lines of text, as in the photo above. However, I apparently have freakishly small wrists, so they had to split it into three lines. My bracelet is a smidge over 5 inches long and is 5 cm wide, the widest they make bracelets. They made my bracelet, posted it on Etsy, and I purchased it, all within under a week. Tadaa!

custom, wrist 5in x 5cm, bl., sn.

They are based in Poland, and I am in Kansas. Now I had to wait. I was able to track my package and yesterday, it said it was in New York. This morning, someone knocks on the door and my fiance goes “Huh, someone sent me something from Poland” and I just start screaming and sprint towards him, ripping the package out of his hands. It came!

IMG_0054

You can choose between 5 different dyes for the leather strap and 3 different attachments. I chose black leather and snaps.

IMG_0055I can’t actually wear it with both snaps snapped, but it fits very well with 1 done. It’s very easy to wear, though it’s a bit wide (but I knew what exactly it was going to be when I ordered it) and I really really love it. The copper plate is curved so it sits very well on my wrist. It’s rivited to the leather by 6 small brass rivets, 3 on each side.

IMG_0052The detail in the etching is amazing, it’s perfect. I highly recommend this company, and not just for Elvish stuff. They of course etch things in English and even have a few in Hebrew. They also have some with just designs, and I’ sure they’d etch anything you wanted, just send them a message!

Always in my Heart - Mens leather bracelet, inscription in Hebrew

So, to sum it up, I got an awesome bracelet today, and I’m super happy about that. Thanks for reading guys!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in LOTR Gifts, Wear This Now and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

