DIY Lord of the Rings Candles

Howdy folks! As I’ve said before, I’m a huge DIY person. I’m actually in Texas for a few weeks and while I’ve only been here for less than 14 days, I am literally going INSANE because I have nothing to make. Even if I did though, I didn’t bring any of my tools or crafting supplies with me! The only thing I’ve had to do was assemble my save the dates. I just need to brad the gears on to them, and that will take about 30 minutes.

So, I attempted to make something last night with the only tools I could scrounge up. I’ve been wanting to try to make some book page candles and I found a great tutorial for them! I also found an old copy of my Fellowship of the Ring book I’ve had for years (but not too many years, as it’s one of the movie covers). Seeing as I had a beautiful leather bound copy of the entire LOTR series, and since my old book was a bit worse for wear, I decided to use some of the map pages in the book to make a candle! I even attempted to make a tutorial of my own, but just TODAY I lost all of my photos when I got a new phone, so now I only have a picture of my finished product. Which is fine really, because my tutorial would have sucked, as I didn’t even have the right tools to make it. I felt like a junkie needing my fix, and even if I had to half-ass making something, I had to make something!

Previously on BreeCraft, we took a look at the wedding of Beth and Michael where they used mason jars wrapped in Lord of the Rings book pages and I just loved them.

So, today we’re going to take a look at a book page candle tutorial made by Angela Price of Styled Ever After. It’s pretty simple and they not only make great home decor, but with a little tweaking,  this tutorial  can  be used to add a little Middle-Earth glow to your  center pieces as well!


Here’s what you’ll need to get started:

  • 3- 8” glass jar candles
  • 6 book pages measuring 4” x 7 ½ “
  • Twine & colored string
  • White glue or Mod Podge
  • Foam craft brush
  • Glittered heart sticker (optional)

I used my Cricut Expression to cut the heart shapes and the word “LOVE” from the individual book pages. You can use a craft punch or trace and cut shapes to get the same effect. The possibilities here are endless. I choose a simple design for my valentine display.

For each candle, you’ll need one book page with a cutout and one plain book page. Begin by brushing on white glue all over the backside of the plain book page. Making sure to get all the edges.

Place your book page onto the jar candle, centering it between the top and bottom of the jar.

Smooth the book page in place with your hands, working from the center out. Smooth any wrinkles or bubbles as you work towards the edges.

Next apply glue to the book page with a cut out in it. Line up the top edges with the already adhered book page and smooth from the center out.

For the word “LOVE” I had to adhere the center of the “O”. This is a tiny detail, but makes a big difference when you see your candle light shine through the cut out.

Repeat these same steps for your other two jar candles.

To embellish my candles I used twine, red burlap fibers and natural burlap fibers. They are pretty much just the strings that make up burlap fabric. You can use anything for this. Sting, ribbon, even yarn. Anything you have on hand.

Since your candles are new, you’ll have to let them burn a few hours before you’re able to really see the glow through your valentine cutouts.


And there you have it! Obviously you can cut out different shapes or even leave the pages whole. Angela had a great tip on burning your candles for a few hours before actually displaying them so the flame lights up the actual book pages. But, you can apply this method to any sized jar, even ones without candles already in them and drop a small tea light to get the entire glass to glow!

Here is what I made last night. I used a small glass candle holder that measures about 3 inches high and fits a tea light inside. Because my jar tapers from thinner at the bottom to wider at the opening, I just held the paper around the jar with one hand and cut the paper flush to the bottom and top of the glass. When I removed the paper, it resembled a small arch rather than a straight rectangle. I used 2 pages of a map and followed Angela’s tutorial pretty closely after I cut my paper. I then dropped a tea light in the jar and viola!

IMG_0012

IMG_0014

In the photos, it may look a bit jumbled, but that’s because there was a map on the other side of the paper, so both sides shown through when the candle was lit.

So, are you ready to go cut up a book and make your own?!

No?

You say you have a problem cutting up a book?

I thought you might. Therefore, I have done the dirty work for you! Here are about 30 different pages taken directly from The Hobbit, The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King. I tried to copy all of the maps, the first page of each book with the runes on the top and bottom, and some of my favorite scenes such as songs, poems, and iconic moments, plus a few chapter pages.

(Click on the thumbnails for full size. Then, right click and save them to your computer for printing. They measure around 9 inches tall and 5.5 wide, though they can be resized to be smaller. Depending on what paper you print them on, you may want to age the pages either in a photo editing software or age the paper before you print the pages to give them an old, book worn look, whichever you prefer)

Here are maps from The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings books.

hmap1 hmap2hmap4 hmap3map1 ttmap2 ttmap1 rkmap1 map3 map2


Here are pages from The Hobbit

h1 h2 h3 h4 h5 h6


Pages from The Fellowship of the Ring

f11 page1 page2 page3 page4 page5 page6 page7 page8


The Two Towers

tt1 tt2 tt3 tt4 tt5


And The Return of the King

rk1 rk2 rk3 rk4 rk5 rk6 rk7 rk8 rk9


So, there you go! Book pages without the guilt of actually cutting up a book. You’re welcome.

In all seriousness though, these can be used for anything. I personally have ideas to make book page confetti with them by printing pages on both sides of paper, then using a paper punch in a fun shape like a heart or a leaf, and then scatter the confetti around the tables or even have guests throw them at us as we exit.

(Or buy your own by clicking on the photos below)

The Hobbit Paper Confetti Hearts Set of 100 J. R. R. Tolkien Scrapbook Party Babyshower Wedding Shower

Or even use them to make a book page runner!

party, decor, table decor, table setting, place setting, wedding, books, table runner, book table runner

What will you do? Whatever it is, make sure to let us know in the comments!

Until next time readers. Oh, and Happy Thanksgiving!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Paper Goods, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

