Sword Bouquet Progress!

Guys! So, in less than a week, my fiance and I are flying to Texas to, among other things, view our venue and go wedding dress shopping! I was born and raised in Texas, and that’s where my family still lives. I’ve toured our venue before, but my fiance has never seen it, so this is very exciting. I also haven’t seen my family in quite a few months, so I’m really ready for this trip.

Sadly, my little sister has to have major back surgery, so instead of returning with my fiance after his 5 day stay, I’ll be staying in Texas for another 2 weeks to help care for her. This not only lets me be there with my family, but gives me more time with my mom. Because I live in Kansas, we’ve not had much time to wedding plan. In fact, the last time I saw her, she had had a sever stroke (but is 100% recovered!), but I managed to grab my prototype sword bouquet to bring with me when I flew down there to show her.

But this time, our trip is planned and I am able to bring a lot more wedding stuff. Since the trip is RAPIDLY APPROACHING, yesterday I somehow did more wedding stuff in a day than I have in the last 2 months. I spray painted all of the 100 laser cut gears for our save the dates, I finalized the save the date design, which I will be printing in a few hours (squee!), cut the blades off of 3 out of 5 swords, spray painted a bird cage gold that we’re using for our centerpieces, and took down our Halloween decorations. That’s like at least 3 weeks worth of stuff that I crammed into one day.

So, as I’ve mentioned before in older posts about my bouquets, I’m making all of the bridesmaids bouquets and my own for the wedding. I’m making the flowers out of coffee filters, card stock, and buttons. The handle of the bouquets will be a sword handle! A few months ago, I posted about how I had found Sting replica swords for pretty cheap, but that I was torn between Sting and another sword. I ended up splitting them up, and ordered 2 of the smaller sword and 3 of Sting. This gives me 5 swords, and my Maid of Honor will have her own sword (which I still need to order) and I’ll have a different one as well (also…still need to order).

2141-a

I have 3 of these!

https://i0.wp.com/www.smkw.com/large/knife/DBHK5054.jpg

And I have 2 of these. However, When I got these in, the silver hilt is much more golden than in the photo, but I don’t mind!

So! Yesterday I cut the blades off of the 2 smaller swords and 1 Sting. The Sting blades are much wider than the smaller swords, and I’m still working the kinks out of how I might use the same sized styrofoam ball for both types of swords.

So, I used my Dremel tool to cut the blades off. This went much faster than using my jewelers saw, and once I stopped being afraid, it took about a minute to cut through each sword. I marked where I wanted to cut and started cutting in on one side of the sword, then flipped it over and cut into the blade on the other side, so I eventually had 2 cuts trying to meet in the middle. Once I had about a few millimeters left of blade to cut, I stopped and just whacked the blade on the ground and it broke off clean. I then used a sander tool on my Dremel to smooth out the corners and make sure there were no sharp points or edges.

IMG_20141105_151610

IMG_20141105_153205

Tadaa!! I’m very happy with both sword types, and I must say, Sting is pretty cool. There’s really detailed Elvish on the cross guard that the photo doesn’t do justice. As I said, the other smaller sword is more goldish than I thought it was going to be, but I’m OK with that. Sadly, one of the hilts came off! After I had cut the blade off, I realized one handle was loose, and when I pulled hard, it popped right off, leaving me with the pommel and hand grip in one hand, and the blade and cross guard in the other! I was able to just stick them back together, and I’ll need to secure them at some point, but it’s not like I expect anyone to be swinging them about (or do I?) so I’m not too concerned.

I still need to cut the other 2 Sting blades off, but I’ll do that when I’m not running around like a chicken with my head cut off, trying to get everything ready for the trip. I spent a few weeks a while ago making over 200 coffee filter flowers for the bouquets, and I have a test bouquet of flowers that has seen better days, but still looks pretty good, all things considered, and it will be coming with us on our trip (in the checked bag, don’t bring swords on planes people)

IMG_20141105_153659Woo! Progress. Honestly, these bouquets are the biggest project for the wedding I have, I believe. I also spray painted custom laser cut gears I designed and had made for our Save the Dates.

IMG_20141105_122702I spray painted them a light gold. At first, I thought the gold was too light, but once I paired it with the green Save the Date, I rather like it. I’m going to print the Save the Dates in about 2 hours (AAH!) and then attach the gears to the paper with brass brads. I’m bringing these all to Texas with us, so my mom can help me put them together if she wants. I’m contemplating putting magnets on the back of the paper, but I’m not sure if I will.

green

This is more or less what they’ll look like, but I’ve tweaked the font a bit. Under “Shanon and Brandon are getting married” is our wedding website

pink

Then, you spin the gear to reveal other information! I am clever. (Pink was just a test color, they will all be green like in the photo above. Our colors are purple, green, and gold)

So, that’s what I did yesterday! I also worked on a mock up of our centerpieces, but still, I’m not happy with them. I think it’s the setting. I think anything will look ugly if I put it on our kitchen table. I think (hope) once I get them in the actual venue with nice plates and table cloths, I’ll like them. I think (hope).

Alrighty! I’m off to go print the Save the Dates! I plan to use Office Max (because they are next to my work) and here’s hoping it’s not too expensive! Thanks for reading!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Bouquets and Flowers, Inspiration, Steampunk, Wedding Goods and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

