Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween readers! Today, I’m taking a “much needed break from wedding planning” (because, you know, Pinterest can be so demanding) to celebrate my favorite holiday!

Growing up in South Texas, we never had seasons. It went from 90 degrees to 50 for about 2 weeks in the year, usually in January, and that was because of a cold front. So, our Halloweens were always hot and muggy. I like to say we Texans invented the slutty costumes not as a means to be sexy, but as a means for survival, because you could very well die in those full body polyester costumes!

Now, I live in Kansas and while it’s about 40 degrees today and I’ve got 10 layers on because I’m FREEZING, at least it feels like Halloween. The trees are yellow, red, and orange, and you can wear scarfs and boots and you won’t die of heat stroke. It’s nice to have seasons. I say that now, but talk to me when there’s 2 feet of snow outside and it’s barely above 10 degrees at 2 P.M.

While my fiance and I frequent Renaissance festivals, our outfits are usually Steampunk in nature. However, I do have a fairy outfit I like to wear once or twice a year. I usually wear it when it’s hot out, because the chemise is gauzy and light. I wore it to the Kansas City Renaissance festival a few months ago, and while it’s now freezing, I think I’m going to wear it tonight to go trick or treating with my fiance’s nephew. I can layer up, and it’s more obvious as to what I am than my steampunk garb (which, while cool looking, doesn’t really feel like a costume in the Halloween sense. It feels more like “Hey, it’s faire season/convention time!)

ff

fff

My wings are from Fancy Fairy, and are some of my most prized possessions. They’re made of cellophane and a light aluminum wire frame that slip into your corset or shirt and you can hardly feel them at all. They are the smallest pair the maker makes, which is great for faires or crowded conventions. Fancy Fairy makes the most beautiful wings, and many brides wear some of her creations for their weddings every year!

My green chemise was bought at a costume shop in Dallas ages ago, and my brown corset is from Corset Story. I added greenery and purple trim to my shoulders and arms, as well as making my gold pouch and head wreath.

I’m also wearing my Evenstar pendant I bought what seems like decades ago off of Ebay for my high school senior prom. I plan to wear it to out wedding (duh).

So, that’s my outfit this year! Have a great day and night everyone, and Happy Halloween!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

