Hobbit guestbook ideas?

OK, so we’re in the middle of October, we’ve passed the 1 year mark till our wedding! WHAT DOES THIS EVEN MEAN?! It means I am slacking, and I need to pick up the freaking pace.

I’ve been going over ideas of our guestbook, and I have some thoughts. I like those thumbprint trees like this:

Savannah Wedding Thumbprint Tree Live Oak Guest Book

The idea is that your guests stamp their thumb print onto the tree and sign their name on their print. While looking at these guest books, I had a thought of the Party Tree in the Shire. However, I don’t want my guests to use ink, as I have heard it’s messy, but I still like the tree idea. So, the other night I whipped up these 2 ideas for a guest book. Instead of the guests stamping their thumb for the leaves, there will be paper leaves with like sticky backing, that guests sign and place on the tree. Or something.

Here are my 2 versions, day and night, that I made in about 10 minutes in photoshop, don’t judge:

Guest book hobbit day

Day!

Guest book hobbit

Night!

Like I said, this was all done very quickly, and if I did go with this idea, I’d polish it up and print it on canvas or get it framed or something. Each person would take a leaf, write their name on it, and place it on the tree. It’s not terribly Lord of the Ring-ish, but…I kind of like it. I’ve shown it to a few people and some have said that they don’t really understand it, they’re like “Why are the tents so small?” so I may need to either distance myself from the Tolkien-y-ness of it, or really go all out on it. Right now, I think it’s in the awkward middle. What do you think?

Or, I could just go for the tree and leaf idea and leave out the tents and background. Or, I can go with any of the other 25 thoughts I have for a guest book, both geeky and ‘normaly’.

My second runner up guest book idea is actually Harry Potter themed, as my fiance loves Harry Potter as I love Lord of the Rings. It would essentially be like the Marauders Map, with guests signing their names and possibly little foot print stickers they can put on a map. I’ve got it in my head, but it’s decidedly harder to put to paper, and I think it may be a bit crowded with 100+ guest names and feet. Ideas, bah humbug!

On a side note, I’ve finished The Silmarillion, and of course I loved it, though I’ve decided I’m going to reread it all over again right away and like…take notes. I need just random faces to assign to the characters, they don’t even have to look like they should, but with all of those F names, (Fingolfin, Finwe, Feanor, etc) I get confused, and if I just had a little chart, I feel like I could be like “Ooooh, that guy with the hair, ok I got it now” Also, someone should make a Guess Who game with the cast of Middle-Earth, amiright?!

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/55/66/15/5566150bf3af75226a88674cc12d07c4.jpg

http://bestofthe80s.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/guesswhobox.jpg

“Is he on the good guy’s side?”

“He is on nobody’s side, because no one is on his side”

“…is it Treebeard?”

“Damn, how did you guess?!”

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Wedding Goods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hobbit guestbook ideas?

  1. Matt says:

    I love the two scenes with the party tree! I totally want to use these for my own wedding in a few weeks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

