Where the actual Lord of the Rings should shop

So, I’ve been in Middle-Earth 24/7 recently. I convinced my fiance to watch the trilogy over the last few days, and during The Two Towers he goes “You know, this is a cool movie” and I’m just like, “…yes, I’m aware”. I’m also half way through The Silmarilion for the second time, and I am enjoying it immensely more this time around than my first read through. Some can find it dry, but I find it absolutely fascinating. I just read through the story of Lúthien and Beren (be still, my heart) and it’s got me all in a lovey-dovey mood!

We’re nearing October, and do you know what this means? It means I only have 12 months until my own wedding. This fact makes me want to flail about like Carcharoth when he swallowed the Silmaril! (Get it?! Ah, I’m so funny).

So, you know, I’ve got about 5276 things I should be doing to make this wedding happen, which is of course why I spend all my time playing with kitties and looking at rings on the internet. You know, the essential stuff.

I have a story for you! One day, a beautiful princess was pinning things on her Pinterest board. She soon came upon a beautiful scroll work ring. This pin lead her to a magical website called Green Lake Jewelry, where she found a plethora of the most beautiful rings, the likes of which she had never seen before. It was as if the great Fëanor himself had wrought them! It was there that she found The One. In passing, she mentioned it to her prince, though she believed this mentioning to be folly, for if her prince would not even heed her pleas to do the dishes for once, surely he’d not remember this one ring.

Months passed, and by chance, the princess’s prince took her to the Kansas City Renaissance Festival. It was there, before all of their friends, new and old, that he proposed to her. To her great surprise and delight, her prince HAD remembered her ring she had pinned so long ago, and had tracked it down and gave it to her. It was the most beautiful thing she had ever seen, and they lived happily ever after!

VINTAGE LOOK CURLY ENGAGEMENT RING

My ring! The center stone here is a CZ, but we replaced it with a London blue topaz. The two smaller diamonds are real though, and the metal is palladium.

So, that’s my story, and that’s my ring. It’s all true too, I found Green Lake through Pinterest and I told my fiance about the ring only once. He found it himself (probably through stalking my pinterest board) and had it custom made. He’s told me how wonderful the people there were to work with and the ring is absolutely beautiful. The new stone we ordered was a tad too big, and while it fits, it’s like “HELLO, I’M A RING” meaning, it’s to flashy for me, but that’s my fault because I ordered the stone. But, I couldn’t rave about the setting enough. It’s perfect. They sized it to a 4, which is what my fiance told them I was, but because the top of the setting is so wide, we actually had to get it resized to a 3.5 to fit right. In the winter, it’s a little big, but in the summer, it’s good (I had no idea I had itty bitty baby hands, who knew)

So, like I said, Green Lake is great to work with. They will totally work with you to make a custom piece or alter an existing piece to your standards. They offer many of their rings in many different metals and you can even order stones through them as well (though I ordered my topaz through gemselect.com because we liked their prices better) and, they have some of THE most beautiful rings I’ve ever seen. It was very hard for me to pick one honestly, and while I’d never trade my ring for anything, I’d be hard pressed to settle on just 1 of their other rings. They have over 1,000 rings to choose from, and dozens of ways to wittle down your searching for rings through categories such as price, stone shape, and band style. That being said, let’s take a look at my favorite category of theirs, the Organic Lines collection. I’ll be featuring the more organic, celtic, and elveny rings, because, you know…you are at BreeCraft, and that’s how we roll here.

First off, this one! They don’t usually name their rings, but their description of this one is “With Partially Fabricated Calla Lily and (2) Round Diamonds Set in Leaves.” Pretty!

ORGANIC 14K WHITE GOLD MOUNTINGORGANIC 14K WHITE GOLD MOUNTING

Here’s another in a more simple style, though it’s still organic and earthy.

ORGANIC WRAP MOUNTINGORGANIC WRAP MOUNTING

I really like this one (which is ridiculous for me to say, of course I really like all of them, but still)

PLATINUM SPLIT SHANK FABRICATED DIAMOND VINE RINGPLATINUM SPLIT SHANK FABRICATED DIAMOND VINE RING

This one is a lot more ornate, but I still love the organic feel and femininity it has.

ORGANIC 14K WHITE GOLD MOUNTINGORGANIC 14K WHITE GOLD MOUNTING

Ug, so pretty. This is “Diamond Garden Engagement Ring”

DIAMOND GARDEN ENGAGEMENT RINGDIAMOND GARDEN ENGAGEMENT RING

Almost all of the rings are offered in 6 different metal choices. Here’s one in yellow gold with ruby accents

CUSTOM FLORAL MOUNTING IN 18K YELLOW GOLD WITH RUBY ACCENTS.CUSTOM FLORAL MOUNTING IN 18K YELLOW GOLD WITH RUBY ACCENTS.

One of the biggest things I love about these GreenLake rings is the attention to the detail in the metalwork. Look at the scroll work in this ring

ORGANIC MOUNTINGORGANIC MOUNTING

And this one

ORGANIC FLOWER ENGAGEMENT RING ORGANIC FLOWER ENGAGEMENT RING

This is one of my very favorites, though it doesn’t have a center stone (yet!)

ORGANIC 4-PRONG SPLIT SHANK MOUNTINGORGANIC 4-PRONG SPLIT SHANK MOUNTING

I really like the top view on this one.

BYPASSING 3-STONE 4-PRONG MOUNTINGBYPASSING 3-STONE 4-PRONG MOUNTING

Here are a few Celtic knot work rings too

CELTIC LEAF AND VINE 4-PRONG MOUNTINGCELTIC LEAF AND VINE 4-PRONG MOUNTING

PALLADIUM DIAMOND AND EMERALD TRINITY KNOT RINGPALLADIUM DIAMOND AND EMERALD TRINITY KNOT RING

Ug, here’s the rest I liked, I won’t make you sit through any more commentary from me. It’ll all just be “OH MY GOD I love this! And this! Oh, and this!” so here

WRAP STYLE MOUNTING WRAP STYLE MOUNTING

ORGANIC PIERCED CURL AND LEAF MOUNTINGORGANIC PIERCED CURL AND LEAF MOUNTING

FLORAL FABRICATED MOUNTINGFLORAL FABRICATED MOUNTING

HALF BEZEL ORGANIC MOUNTINGHALF BEZEL ORGANIC MOUNTING

ORGANIC 14K X-1 WHITE GOLD MOUNTINGORGANIC 14K X-1 WHITE GOLD MOUNTING

PALLADIUM RING WITH FILIGREE SIDESPALLADIUM RING WITH FILIGREE SIDES

ANTIQUE ORGANIC MOUNTINGANTIQUE ORGANIC MOUNTING

PLATINUM AND ROSE GOLD LEAF WRAP RINGPLATINUM AND ROSE GOLD LEAF WRAP RING

14K TWO TONED HAND FABRICATED RING14K TWO TONED HAND FABRICATED RING

SWIRLY ROSE GOLD ENGAGEMENT RINGSWIRLY ROSE GOLD ENGAGEMENT RING

FLORAL 4-PRONG MOUNTINGFLORAL 4-PRONG MOUNTING

I could go on and on and on and on and on AND ON. But I won’t. Like I said, this is only a small fraction of their ring selection, and all of these can be customized in metal and gemstones. They have all kinds of styles ranging from these organic looking ones, to antique rings, to simple, minimalist, classic, and modern. If you simply can’t find the perfect ring, they will work with you to completely design a one of a kind ring just for you. They also have a few necklaces and other jewelry, but their strength lies in rings, I think.

Unlike my other posts about beautiful things, I actually own a Green Lake ring and have personally worked with them, and I can’t say enough about them. While they may be a bit pricy (their price range from around $1,000 and up) their quality and attention to detail is one of the best I’ve ever seen and I highly recommend them! Give them a look, but grab a snack first, and a napkin, because you’ll be at their website for hours drooling over their stuff. Until next time, guys!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Jewelery, Wear This Now, Wedding Goods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

