Sting Sword Handle Bouquet of Awesomness!

GUYS. Good Lord of the Rings things come to those who wait!

So, remember my sword bouquet? I’ve been struggling for ages over what sword hilt to use. I need 5 (I have 6 bridesmaids, but my maid of honor’s sword is different) and I wanted to spend no more than $15 on each sword. This limited my choices. I went back and forth over many swords that I was OK with that were a decent price, and some that I loved, but where more expensive. I ultimately decided to go with swords that were OK and cheaper. I knew I wanted a European style sword, and wanted to try to stay away from skulls, evil dragons, snakes (because, you know, swords are fine at a wedding, but throw in skulls and snakes? What?) and basically anything like that, which once again limited my choices.

NO LONGER DO I HAVE TO SETTLE. Lookit!

2141-aThis is listed as “24 inch Stainless Steel King’s Sword with Sheath”. Riiight, gotchya *wink*. Blaaaaa! My love. Just today, I was trying out center piece ideas using loose LOTR pages (before you come to my door with torches and pitchforks, I used a copy of FOTR that I bought for $2 at Halfprice Books that had a movie photo for a cover. Nothing wrong with these books, but come on, if we’re going to tear up a book, let’s make sure there are a bajillion others just like it, and I hope you can forgive me) and my fiance and I decided that maybe the pages just weren’t a good idea. They will be used elsewhere, but not for center pieces. So, I was kinda feelin down on not having my touches of Lord of the Ringness in the wedding. I AM NO LONGER FEELIN DOWN.

2141-c

Yaaaay! And, since I’ll be buying 5 of them, they come to $11.33 each, pretty good! My only worry is that they blade is a bit thicker than I am use to working with, and it may screw up the styrofoam balls I have already bought. If I need to, I guess I can skinny up the blade with my Dremel. But whatever, they’re great!

2141-b

I do wish the handle was wooden, or at least looked wooden, but I’ll get over it. I love the sheath, even if it’s cheap, and I may try to incorporate the metal decorative bit that’s on the sheath into the bouquet, but I don’t know yet. How freaking fitting, because it was only after I picked up my own Sting replica did I come up with the idea to even have a sword hilt bouquet handle. Circle of life, guys.

So, in the morning, I will be ordering these. I think? Part of me is like “Uh, yeah, duh, buy them now” but the other part is saying “No, buy THESE. Same price, and you know you love them!” because it’s the same hilt I have on my test bouquet now. Same price too. I…I just don’t know. Benefits? For Sting, the #1 best thing about it is, it’s Sting. #2, it’s cheap and I love the idea of it. But, on the con side, I’m worried the blade thickness will be an issue, and what if they’re super cheap looking, have metal burs along the seams, and all around suck? Pros for the other hilt are #1, I know I love them and I’ve used this exact hilt before. #2 is the blade is the right size. And, I do love the two-toned metal look. Maybe my bridesmaids, who will be keeping them, might like this style better?

https://i1.wp.com/www.smkw.com/large/knife/210869.jpg

IMG_20140722_172502

FEELINGS AND EMOTIONS. Let us sleep on it, and we’ll make the decision in the morning. It’s damn near the middle of August and I must have these bouquets done by October!

breecraft

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Bouquets and Flowers, Wedding Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sting Sword Handle Bouquet of Awesomness!

  1. Pingback: Sword Bouquet Progress! | BreeCraft

Leave a Reply

