Invitations and Steampunk Save the Dates

Ok, so, we all know I sort of have a little thing for the Lord of the Rings. However, I also have other interests, such as drinking, eating, and napping. I also like steampunk quite a bit, and my fiance even proposed to me at a renaissance festival while we were in our steampunk garb. Good times!

Originally, our wedding vision was heavily influenced by steampunk. My fiance is pretty typical when it comes to helping with the wedding planning, i.e., he’s kind of like “meh, if you like it, I like it”. However, he did have an idea that he thought up himself, and because he was so excited about it, I have done everything I can to make it happen.

His idea was for our Save the Dates, which are little cards some couples choose to send out before the actual invitations, which tell their guests when the wedding is and it’s sort of a little pre-reminder. They are especially helpful for destination weddings, or for guests who will be traveling far. About half of our guests will be coming from out of state, so we decided Save the Dates are a must.

His idea was to have a gear spin and reveal our Save the Date information! I designed them in Photoshop and had the gears cut from thin wood at a local Maker Space near us on a laser printer. It was all relatively easy, and while it cost a bit to get the gears cut, I figure that if we print the cards at home, we probably won’t be spending any more than someone who used Vista Print to print custom cards! I’ve made about 5 different drafts, and I’ve finally settled on a design I like.  Here is my old draft that I don’t like anymore, which had a top hat, goggles, and keys. I’ve blocked out the town name and our wedding website.

oldSo, that’s old news. Here is the design I’ve settled on. I also painted the gears gold. The trouble is, I can’t decide which card color I like best!

   allGreen

greenPink

pinkOr Purple

purpleI had to add ‘Spin Me!’ with an arrow because you have no idea how many people didn’t understand the gear spun. But see how it works, you spin the wooden gear, which is bradded on to the card, and it shows you either info or pictures! Pretty adorable. The little bride is the same figure I used in my bridesmaids letters too! Not that I expect anyone to notice that, but, details, people! Our wedding website will go right under “Brandon and Shanon are getting married!”. I rather like the green version myself, and so does my fiance, so we’ll probably go with that. After I get some heavier card stock to print them on, they’ll be good to go! We’ll probably send these out 9 months before the wedding, which is in October 2015, so I have some time to get all of this done. Yay!

Now, I also designed our invitations. I’m having them printed through Vista Print, and waiting until I get an awesome 50% off coupon to do so, but since I have a year and a half until the wedding, I’m not too worried. I don’t know what my actual inspiration was for the invite, I was sort of going for an old, elveny, slightly circus feel. I dunno…I like them!

websafe frontEh? I like them. I just ordered a few samples from Vista Print to see how the colors translated and I’ve added a bit more purple around the edges just now, so hopefully the real ones will look exactly like this one. The back will have the same background with our names or a little symbol or something in the middle, once I design it. But, that’s pretty much it too! They’ll be 5×7, mailed with an RSVP card and probably a little insert directing people to our wedding website for hotel reservation making, in a brown craft paper envelope. Yay!

I’m DIYing a ton for the wedding, and these Save the Dates are one of my biggest projects, next to my sword bouquets. After my final draft version I just finished, I can just about mark off ‘make Save the Dates and Invitations’ from my super long to-do list! Thanks for reading, guys!

breecraft

 

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Steampunk, Wedding Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

