Wedding 101

Hello all! So, I’m getting married on October 11th, 2015, and I have endeavored to DIY pretty much all that I can for the wedding. I’ll be making the invitations, save the dates, RSVP cards, bouquets for myself and my girls, boutonnieres for the guys, center pieces, programs, place cards, guest book, and whatever else needs to be made! This is because I am insane, but also because I pretty much make things for a living. I went to school for props master work in technical theatre, and I figured that if I make things at my job, why not make things at my home.

While my fiance and I live in Kansas now, the wedding will be in Texas, where I was born and raised, and where my family lives. This makes wedding planning a bit harder. But, we’ve already got our venue booked! The venue is pretty much all inclusive, so after putting our deposit down, we have

  • Caterer
  • Bar
  • Cake
  • DJ
  • Venue and ceremony space
  • Tables, chairs, linens, plated, cups, silverware
  • Some center pieces
  • A cordinator
  • Ligthing
  • an officiant
  • Invitations

So, that’s kind of nice! While the invitations come with the price of the venue, I will be making them myself and they will credit us back $5 for every invitation we do not use, which will be about 100. We will need to find a photographer and a florist, but I’m trying to make the flowers myself.

My fiance and I are huge Renaissance festival and steampunk fans. He proposed to me at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival last October, during a huge Renaissance festival convention I had helped plan! It was amazing! Here’s us right after he popped the question.

engagement

And here’s my ring!

ring

It’s palladium with a London blue topaz and two small diamonds on the sides. I love it!

As we love renaissance festivals and steampunk, we’ve endeavored to bring that into our wedding. I am a HUGE Lord of the Rings fan, and my fiance loves Harry Potter. After going through all of our plans and ideas, we realized that there is not a lot of steampunk planned for our wedding. So, as of now, our wedding is leaning a bit more towards Lord of the Rings/Harry Potter/whatever other awesome stuff we think of, and that’s totally cool. It will probably be a bit on the lighter side as far as weddings with these themes go, but we are planning to make it the very best we can!

My purpose for starting this blog is to chronicle my wedding planning process and share my crafts and tutorials with others. Before October 2015, I will need to make

  • Invitations and RSVP cards
  • Save the Dates
  • Programs
  • Bouquets for 6 bridesmaids and myself
  • Boutonnieres for 5 grooms men and my fiance
  • Center pieces for 120 guests
  • A guest book
  • Seating chart things

All of these will have a LOTR or Harry Potter twist! So, stick around and share your own geeky wedding advice!

 

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Steampunk, Wedding Goods and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

