Lord of the Rings Bridesmaids letters

So, to start things off, I thought I’d share how I asked my girls to be my bridesmaids! As always, the best things in life are LOTR themed. I thought of that famous line “One does not simply…” and boom, the idea was born!

Folded_Card_EU

I have uh…SIX bridesmaids, one is just missing from this photo. I made it in photoshop with relative ease. The bodies of the girls are all the same, I just used different heads and weapons (that sounds weird). My sister is 14, so she’s the middle one who looks younger. On the card, I’m Gandalf with Glamdring, then my Maid of Honor is Legolas, then Gimli, Frodo, Boromir (with his sword and the horn of Gondor, see it?) and Aragorn heading up the rear. I only have them in this order because that’s basically the order they are in the iconic shot, minus a hobbit or two.

I then uploaded the images to Vista Print and printed 5×7 folded cards. Inside I said “Will you be my Bridesmaid?” and wrote each girl a personal note. Surprisingly, Vista Print allows you to add things to the back of the card, so I made this real quick and added it.

back of card

You can ALSO add a little tag line at the very bottom of the card, in small print, almost like a company name. I put “Love you, Precious!” because nothing says theme committal like beating someone over the head with it.

IMG_20140521_234735

I also made little fabric flower hair clips with gears and keys (two elements we’re using in the wedding, because we’re so original) and I used brown craft paper envelopes. I printed the addresses on them with my printer and mailed them out! There was some delay in shipping, probably due to the flower, but everyone accepted, and they loved the cards!

About skittlekittle

Born and raised outside of Houston, Texas, Shanon then moved to Kansas for school. She earned her degree in technical theatre, majoring in props making and managing. She met her fiance while they were both in school, and he proposed to her at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival in Oct. 2013. Now, she spends all of her free time making things for their upcoming wedding in Oct. 2015!
This entry was posted in Wedding Goods and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lord of the Rings Bridesmaids letters

  1. Pingback: Invitations and Steampunk Save the Dates | breecraft

Leave a Reply

